Select Page

St Michael's School

Bassendean

4 James St
Bassendean WA 6054
PO Box 428
Bassendean WA 6934
08 6278 9888
Absentee Line - 6278 9802
admin@stmichaelsbass.wa.edu.au

St Michael's School

Bassendean

Message from the Principal – Newsletter 33

Dear Parents and Caregivers

On Thursday this week we had a lovely morning with our 2020 kindy students and families at the Kindergarten Orientation. It was heart-warming to see the excitement of our future students and to have the opportunity to make our new families feel welcome. The sense of community at this event was palpable and lovely to witness. Well done to our dedicated kindy staff! At this point in time we don’t quite have the numbers to run a three-year-old program next year. However, we will continue to keep an expressions of interest list and as more names are added we may be able to get this off the ground as the year progresses next year. Please continue to spread the word.

Remembrance Day

On Monday, our Year 3 – 6 students will join the Town of Bassendean and RSL Remembrance Day service at the Bassendean War Memorial on the BIC Reserve. The ceremony commences at 10.15am and concludes shortly after 11am.

Upcoming Events

Don’t forget these important upcoming events:

  • Volunteers Morning tea –  Friday 15 November
  • Walk to School Day – Monday 18 November (see P & F Section of Newsletter for more info)
  • AGM – Monday 18 November 6pm

 

Staffing Update

Our staff recruitment process for next year has been completed. We will be welcoming Mrs Lynda Charles as our new art specialist. Lynda joins us from Iona Presentation College Junior School. Miss Meadhbh Glasgow-Collins, who currently teaches at Liwara Catholic Primary School, will join our junior primary teaching team. As has traditionally occurred at St. Michael’s, our final staff list will be released in the last newsletter of the school year.

2020 Student Free Days

Our 2020 term dates and student free days will be as follows:

Term 1
Staff Commence – Thursday 30th January
Students Commence – Monday 3rd January
Student Free Day – Friday 28th February (connected to the Labour Day long weekend)
Term ends for students – Wednesday 8th April
Student Free Day – Thursday 9th April (connected to Easter Long Weekend and school holidays)

Term 2
Staff & students commence – Tuesday 28th April
Catholic Day (school closed) – Tuesday 2nd June (connected to WA Day long weekend)
Term concludes – Friday 3rd July

Term 3
Student Free Day – Monday 20th July
Students Commence – Tuesday 21st July
Term concludes – Friday 25th September

Term 4
Student Free Day – Monday 12th October
Students Commence – Tuesday 13th October
School year ends for students – Friday 11th December
School year ends for staff – Friday 18th December

 

Well done to our Year 4 – 6 students who competed in the triathlon today!

 

Have a terrific weekend!

Dr Siobhan Galos
Principal

 

Newsletter

Translate »